Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers


*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Main Community Forum
Models, Photographers, Makeup Artists, Forums, Photo Tips, Digital Photography
 

Main Community Forum General Modeling & Photography Forum
Adult posts prohibited!>>Please Read Our GUIDELINES before posting!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Curious about legitimacy
Old 04-29-2008, 11:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
DWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 252
Comments: 0

DWilson is offline IP: 96.52.3.142
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I recently received an e-mail from a company called ITGO Live Modeling Agency. http://itgolivemodelingagency.itgo.com/

It seems to be a direct e-mail to me as opposed to a generic e-mail to a bunch of photographers. They are looking for a photographer for a 10 day shoot in the UK. I looked them up but found nothing (initially there was no web site link in the e-mail). But I felt brave so I replied with a request for more informtation on both the company and the job.

I didn't expect anything to come back except maybe some more spam than I already get.

However, tonight I got a response. The job pays very nicely (with half up front once I show I haveall my paperwork in order) and I can bring my own gear or their client will provide gear for me to use. The client is Greg Tann Boutique UK, who I am also unable to find information on. A WHOIS lookup shows the gtb.com domain name is registered to a company Pleiades Enterprises in Virginia of which a Google search turns up a bunch of links to an energy company.

I could really use the money they are offering, but I don't want to end up stranded in the UK.


Any thoughts?
__________________
Dave Wilson

www.secondsightstudio.com

-=- More Human than Human... -=-
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DWilson Visit DWilson's homepage! Find More Posts by DWilson
 
Re: Curious about legitimacy
Old 04-30-2008, 02:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member

 
bc_shutterbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Courtenay
Posts: 170
Comments: 1

bc_shutterbug is offline IP: 70.66.199.175
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Dave:

Their FAQ lists Vancouver 'If we are interested in you and you live in the Vancouver area', yet also says that their Head Office is in UK.

As I look over their site, I'd be a little concerned. And I'd also be asking why a UK based agency is not taking advantage of local talent to shoot for them.

I think this calls for more questions - perhaps best asked of the client themselves.

Still... if it's legit... it could be a good gig.

Tread carefully and Good Luck!

Cheers Neighbour!

njw
  View Public Profile Send a private message to bc_shutterbug Visit bc_shutterbug's homepage! Find More Posts by bc_shutterbug
 
Re: Curious about legitimacy
Old 04-30-2008, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
lsc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Charleston
Posts: 533
Comments: 2

lsc1 is offline IP: 70.153.62.28
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

This is most likely a SCAM. The next thing they will tell you is that they will send you a check for more than the amount and ask you to send back the difference. Their check will turn out bad and your's will be cashed.
__________________
Cheers,
LSC


"The girlshapedlovedrug messes with my mind." Gomez (the band)
  View Public Profile Send a private message to lsc1 Find More Posts by lsc1
 
Re: Curious about legitimacy
Old 04-30-2008, 12:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Pro Shooter

 
jimmyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,889
Comments: 3

jimmyd is offline IP: 69.229.4.64
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

SCAM!!!

check this out: http://aphotoeditor.com/2008/04/28/photographer-scam/
__________________
I'm not an art critic but I think I know a good picture when I see one.


My blogs
: http://prettygirlshooter.blogspot.com for NSFW naughtiness and http://ishooter.blogspot.com for SFW goodness.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to jimmyd Visit jimmyd's homepage! Find More Posts by jimmyd
 
Re: Curious about legitimacy
Old 04-30-2008, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
hgwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Muskegon
Posts: 40
Comments: 0

hgwest is offline IP: 71.205.233.238
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Jimmy-
Thanks for the link on the stories, good thing a photographer can ask questions like this and get help (and links to back it up) from others here!
H
__________________
Harold West
West Photography
Muskegon, MI

"The only job in the world where you can shoot the ones you dont like and get away with it" - Me
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hgwest Visit hgwest's homepage! Find More Posts by hgwest
 
Re: Curious about legitimacy
Old 05-06-2008, 07:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
JonScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portland | Dallas
Posts: 653
Comments: 0
Send a message via MSN to JonScott Send a message via Yahoo to JonScott

JonScott is offline IP: 206.212.226.175
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hey Dave, it's a scam.

I know a model in Cranbrook that fell for it, unfortunately. Same company names, even.
__________________
Why isn't "I like kitties" an acceptable career goal?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JonScott Find More Posts by JonScott
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just Curious About Something.... DaveB Main Community Forum 6 09-16-2007 03:21 PM
Curious about something... Kejacobson Main Community Forum 1 08-17-2007 09:11 AM
I'm curious ... Doug_Lester Off Topic 3 08-06-2006 03:51 AM
Just Curious... Al_Nowak Main Community Forum 0 07-23-2006 10:56 PM

Google


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.

© 1999-2008 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95